Anxiety Goes Shopping For Sneakers (17/30)

the panic began to rise
so I sat beneath a stand
tucked at toddler level
phone in hand
scrolling my way to stability

he asked if I needed space
then gave it
while keeping near

he didn’t rush me
didn’t make me feel childish
didn’t show a hint of embarassment
just wanted to make sure I was okay

I called out that I was ready
he came back offering a hand
then held me in such a loving embrace

this is how you love a person with anxiety

how you offer up yourself
as safe space if needed
how you acknowledge the condition
while treating the patient with patience
how you make the screaming colors
grow quiet and still

this is why I married him

Leave a Reply

