“No, I Haven’t” (4/30)

when she asks about him
I am a dandelion in a bouquet of roses
I am a broken combination lock
I am a steak knife amongst spoons
a doggie-paddle in an ocean
a sinner on sunday morning
a recycling bin filled with snotty tissues
and negative pregnancy tests
and used q-tips
and dull emery boards
I am a goldfish in the Atlantic
a wedding ring dropped down the drain
a car key flushed down the toilet
I am a suicide note
and forced apologies
and blocked numbers
and skim milk
and a wine stain on the carpet
and dry clean only
all wasabi
and anaphylaxis
and hives
and papercut
and pepper spray
I am pageant smile
and long sleeves
I am everything
but honest

Leave a Reply

